The Crime Writers’ Association

The CWA Daggers

The premier crime-writing awards in the United Kingdom.

Announcements of Daggers 2022

Self-Nominate your Books

Don’t forget our new eligibility criteria allow traditionally published authors to nominate their own titles for a Dagger from this year on. Self-published authors who are members of the CWA are also welcome to do so. Titles must be published and nominated in 2022 for the 2023 Daggers. Please see this page for full details, including eligibility criteria and deadlines. Prizes will be awarded to winners in 2023.

The Daggers

We award eleven Daggers in total. Seven of these are for books and short stories and are judged independently by industry professionals.

Diamond Dagger

The most prestigious Dagger of all, awarded for a lifetime contribution to English-language crime writing.

Gold Dagger

This Dagger is given to the overall best crime novel of the year, from thrillers to mysteries, procedurals to psychological suspense.

Ian Fleming Steel Dagger

Sponsored by Ian Fleming Publications, the Steel Dagger is for the best espionage, psychological, or adventure thriller novel.

John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger

Awarded to the best crime novel by a first-time author of any nationality, first traditionally published in the UK in English.

Historical Dagger

Awarded to the best historical crime novel set in any period up to 50 years prior to the year in which the award will be made.

ALCS Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction

Non-fiction is important to the genre, from true crime and biography to critical studies and literature. This Dagger is for the best such book.

Dagger for Crime Fiction in Translation

This dagger is awarded to a crime novel not originally written in English, and translated into English for UK publication during the judging period.

Sponsored in honour of Dolores Jakubowski.

Short Story Dagger

Awarded to the best crime-focused short story of the year published or broadcast in the UK.

Dagger in the Library

This Dagger is for a writer whose body of work is popular with library users, and who in turn supports libraries and borrowers.

Debut Dagger

A competition for the opening of a crime novel by an unpublished writer. The Debut Dagger is a talent finder, closely watched by the industry.

Sponsored by ProWritingAid.

Nominations & Submissions

From aspiring writers, to seasoned crime authors and publishers, find the right award below.

I am a publisher or author

If you’re a publisher wanting to nominate a title for a Dagger, click here or select a specific Dagger from the list above.

I am an unpublished author

If you’re an unpublished writer wanting to find out more about entering the Debut Dagger, click here.

Winners Archive

The CWA Daggers have enjoyed a long and prestigious history. Search our archive of previous winners, dating all the way back to 1955.

Join the CWA

Become part of a thriving community of successful crime writers with invaluable support, expertise and marketing opportunities for all our members.

Advertise with us