The Crime Writers’ Association

Nominate for the Dagger in the Library

The Dagger in the Library is awarded to a UK crime writer every year.

Eligible authors have published six or more crime books over a period of 10 years or more and have never won the Diamond Dagger. The list of eligible authors who libraries can nominate is selected by the Dagger in the Library judges each year.

Up to three members of staff from each British library can nominate.

The nominating period is from autumn until the last working in day in February of the year in which the award is made.

The key factors in nominating authors are that the author must be popular with library users and must have offered support to libraries.

Authors who were shortlisted for the Dagger in the Library one year are not eligible in the following two years.

Nominations are now open

Join the CWA

Become part of a thriving community of successful crime writers with invaluable support, expertise and marketing opportunities for all our members.

Advertise with us