The Crime Writers' Association

Jane Holland


Jane Holland is a writer of 25 years’ experience, having published nearly thirty books in different genres under multiple pseudonyms, including Victoria Lamb, Elizabeth Moss, Beth Good and Hannah Coates. Her first YA novel, WITCHSTRUCK, won the YA Romantic Novel of the Year Award in 2013, and in the dim and distant past she also won a major Eric Gregory Award from the Society of Authors for her first collection of poetry.

Jane came into crime writing via an Elizabethan Court trilogy from Transworld with a strong thriller element: THE QUEEN’S SECRET, HIS DARK LADY and HER LAST ASSASSIN, all written as Victoria Lamb.

She later shifted into contemporary psychological thrillers under her real name of Jane Holland, penning GIRL NUMBER ONE, LAST BIRD SINGING, MIRANDA (a ghostly story) and LOCK THE DOOR in quick succession.

GIRL NUMBER ONE was a Kindle #1 UK Bestseller in December 2015 and reached the US Top 100 Kindle Bestsellers’ chart in 2016.

Jane’s newest psychological thriller is LOCK THE DOOR, a baby abduction story with a twist, out January 2017 with Thomas & Mercer.

Her other latest publication is a feel-good Christmas tale for dog-lovers, BERTIE’S GIFT, written under the name Hannah Coates with Hodder & Stoughton. One of her Tudor titles as Elizabeth Moss, WOLF BRIDE, was described by The Independent as: ‘The most inevitable literary mash-up of the 21st century!’

As you can no doubt guess, Jane’s motto as a writer is, ‘Diversify or die!’

Other Awards

Eric Gregory Award 1996

YA Romantic Novel of the Year 2013

Books by Jane Holland

  • Girl Number One


  • Lock The Door


  • Her Last Assassin


  • Bertie's Gift


  • Witchstruck


  • The Earl And His Tiger


  • Wolf Bride