The Crime Writers' Association

CWA Author Ed JamesEd James


Ed James is the author of the self-published Scott Cullen series of Scottish police procedurals, featuring a young Edinburgh Detective Constable investigating crimes from the bottom rung of the career ladder he’s desperate to climb. The first book, Ghost in the Machine, has been downloaded over 300,000 times, hitting the Amazon UK top five and US top 50.

Ed’s next novel is Snared, starring Dundee DS Vicky Dodds, published by Thomas & Mercer in 2015.

In order to write full-time, Ed gave up a lucrative career in IT project management, where he filled his weekly commute to London by writing on planes, trains, and automobiles, managing to complete three full-length novels in just seven months. He lives in East Lothian, Scotland.

Other Awards

Longlisted for 2015 Gold Dagger

Voted 94th best crime writer of all time by WH Smith customers in 2015

Books by Ed James

  • Fire in the Blood Snared


  • Ghost in the Machine


  • Bottleneck Devil in the Detail


  • Ghost in the Machine Fire in the Blood


  • Dyed in the Wool


  • Windchill Bottleneck


  • Snared Windchill