The Crime Writers' Association

Diane Janes



As well as being the author of half a dozen crime novels, Diane Janes has also written four factual books, examining real life British murders which occurred in the first half of the twentieth century, and contributed to the CWA anthology Truly Criminal. Her work has been translated into German and Japanese, and she has been shortlisted for both the Debut Dagger and the John Creasey New Blood Dagger. In 2012 she was awarded a Red Herring by the CWA.

Her latest novel A Stroke of Bad Luck (published by Matador) is based on a real life Yorkshire murder and The Missing Diamond Murder – the third book in the Black & Dod Historical Mystery series will be published by Severn House later this summer. Her latest non-fiction book Death at Wolf’s Nick: The Killing of Evelyn Foster is now available from Mirror Books.

Originally from Birmingham, she has also lived on Teesside, in Lancashire and the Lake District, and is currently domiciled in Devon. When not researching, writing on, or lecturing about the darker side of life and death, she enjoys reading, watching tennis, and traveling.


Other Awards

Red Herring in 2012

Books by Diane Janes

  • Edwardian Murder: Ightham & the Morpeth Train Robbery
  • Poisonous Lies: The Croydon Arsenic Mystery
  • The Pull of the Moon
  • Why Don't You Come For Me?
  • The Case of the Poisoned Partridge
  • Swimming in the Shadows
  • Stick or Twist
  • Death at Wolf's Nick: The Killing of Evelyn Foster
  • The Magic Chair Murder
  • The Poisoned Chalice Murder
  • A Stroke of Bad Luck