The Crime Writers' Association

Margaret Kirk


Margaret Kirk writes ‘Highland Noir’ Scottish crime fiction, set in and around her home town of Inverness.

Her debut novel, Shadow Man, won the Good Housekeeping First Novel Competition in 2016. Described as ‘a harrowing and horrific game of consequences’ by Val McDermid, it was published in 2017 by Orion. Book 2 in the DI Lukas Mahler series, What Lies Buried, was published in June 2019. In The Blood, Book 3, will be released in April 2021.

Margaret is also the writer of several award-winning short stories, including The Seal Singers, which has been published in translation in Germany. Her short story, Still Life, is included in the Noir from the Bar anthology 2020.

She is the convener of the Scottish Chapter of the CWA.

Books by Margaret Kirk

  • Shadow Man


  • What Lies Buried


  • Noir From The Bar