The Crime Writers’ Association

Dagger Shortlists Announced

A debut novel is up against one of Britain’s biggest and most celebrated authors for the crime novel of the year. The 2021 shortlists for the prestigious CWA Dagger awards, which honour the very best in the crime writing genre, have been announced....


Manchester Libraries Crime Festival

A celebration of some of the best crime writers in Manchester and the North. Including panel discussions and a Murder Mystery Night! Manchester Central Library M2 5PD Book tickets: https://tinyurl.com/4y33kvbk Wednesday 16th March An author pane...


Margery Allingham Short Mystery Competition 2014

Shortlisted


Susi Holliday

Home from Home


AGM 2022

AGM 2022 Our AGM took place on 28 May. The minutes of the AGM 2021 (as in the Annual Report 2021) were approved, together with the Chair's annual report on 2021 and the Treasurer's report and accounts for the year. Maxim thanked committee memb...


Meet Author Charlie Garratt, Creator of Inspector James Given

Telford & Wrekin Libraries is holding a free event on Zoom with Charlie Garratt - author of the Inspector James Given novels. It takes place on Wednesday 17 March at 7pm. An opportunity to find out more about what inspired Charlie to become an a...


Crime at the Castle – 24th February 2018

A fabulous all-day event at Glamis Castle near Dundee, with a full programme of author speakers, writing sessions held over four time slots. You choose who you want to listen to and when. As the castle won’t yet have opened for the season, many of...


CWA Announces new Debut Dagger Sponsor

The Crime Writers’ Association has announced a new sponsor for its annual international writing competition for unpublished writers. The CWA Debut Dagger is to be sponsored by ProWritingAid, a platform that operates as a grammar checker, style edi...


CWA Debut Dagger Competition Now Open

The Crime Writers’ Association have opened their popular Debut Dagger competition for 2018. The competition is for the opening of a crime novel and any writer who has never had a traditional publishing contract for a full-length novel can enter, ev...


Bodies From The Library Conference

The British Library is holding their fifth annual Bodies From The Library conference celebrating the Golden Age of Detective Fiction. Ideal for fans of Agatha Christie and her contemporaries – Ngaio Marsh, Dorothy L Sayers, John Dickson Carr, Marge...


Become a crime scene investigator for the day or night …

For all real -life crime fans and forensic science enthusiasts comes 4 exclusive events which reveal the wonders of forensic science in crime scene detection. Join eminent forensic scientists Tracy Alexander and Jo Millington as they guide you throu...


Join the CWA

Become part of a thriving community of successful crime writers with invaluable support, expertise and marketing opportunities for all our members.


Advertise with us