The Crime Writers' Association

Historical 2016

A. J. Wright
Striking Murder
Allison & Busby


The first volume in Alan Wright’s Lancashire Detective series takes an unromantic view of late Victorian England. Set in Wigan during the national miners’ strike of 1893, it follows Detective Sergeant Brennan’s attempts to unmask the murderer of a hated colliery owner. Social comment, fine writing and devilishly cunning plotting combine in a novel that brings a forgotten dispute vividly back to life.