The Crime Writers' Association

Sherryl Clark

Sub-genre: , , , , , , ,

Sherryl Clark has more than 70 published children’s and YA books, including novels, chapter books, picture books and verse novels. She has won major awards including the 2005 NSW Premier’s Literary Award for Farm Kid, and her second verse novel, Sixth Grade Style Queen (Not!) was an Honour Book in the 2008 CBCA Awards.

Along the way, she has continued to write crime fiction for adult readers, and had a number of short stories published. In 2018 she entered her crime novel, Trust Me, I’m Dead, for the CWA Debut Daggers and was shortlisted – from this her novel was accepted for publication by Verve Books in a two-book deal. Trust Me, I’m Dead was released July 2019. A second book, Dead and Gone, will be out in June 2020.

Sherryl taught creative writing and editing subjects at Victoria University Polytech for 23 years. She continues to teach classes, workshops and residencies, as well as doing editing and mentoring work through her own business. She has an MFA from Hamline University in Minnesota, and a PhD from Victoria University. Her PhD topic was on the endurance of fairy tales and the writing of new original fairy tales for today’s children that teach resilience and courage.


Books by Sherryl Clark

  • Trust Me, I'm Dead


  • Dead and Gone