The Crime Writers' Association

Chris Longmuir

Sub-genre: , , , , , , , ,

Chris Longmuir was born in Wiltshire and now lives in Angus. Her family moved to Scotland when she was two. After leaving school at fifteen, Chris worked in shops, offices, mills and factories, and was a bus conductor for a spell, before working as a social worker for Angus Council (latterly serving as Assistant Principal Officer for Adoption and Fostering).

Chris is an award winning novelist and has published three novels in her Dundee Crime Series. Night Watcher, the first book in the series, won the Scottish Association of Writers’ Pitlochry Award, and the sequel, Dead Wood, won the Dundee International Book Prize, as well as the Pitlochry Award. Missing Believed Dead is the third book in the series.

Chris has recently published a new series of historical crime novels, The Kirsy Campbell Mysteries, set during and after the First World War.

Her crime novels are set in Dundee, Scotland, and have been described as scary, atmospheric, page turners. Chris also writes historical sagas, short stories and historical articles which have been published in America and Britain. Writing is like an addiction to me, Chris says, I go into withdrawals without it. She is currently working on a further 2 crime novels.

Other Awards

Scottish Association of Authors Pilochry Award (SAW) for best crime novel:- Night Watcher & Dead Wood.

Dundee International Book Prize:- Dead Wood


Books by Chris Longmuir

  • The Death Game: A Kirsty Campbell Novel


  • Night Watcher


  • Dead Wood


  • Missing Believed Dead Chris Longmuir Missing Believed Dead


  • Devil's Porridge