The Crime Writers' Association

Barbara Nadel


Barbara Nadel is the author of the Cetin Ikmen series of crime fiction novels, set in modern Turkey. She also writes the Hakim and Arnold series which is set in the East End of London. Her historical Francis Hancock series is also set in East London takes place during World War 2. An enthusiastic traveller, Barbara has a degree in psychology and worked for many years in mental health services before becoming a full-time writer. She is owned by a Siamese cat.


Silver - Deadly Web 2005

Other Awards

Swedish Flintaxe for ‘Last Rights’ 2006

London Borough of Redbridge Book of the Year for ‘Ashes to Ashes’ 2008

London Borough of Redbridge Book of the Year for ‘Sure and Certain Death’ 2010

Derringer finalist 2013 for short story ‘Nain Rouge’

Books by Barbara Nadel

  • Belshazzar's Daughter
  • A Chemical Prison
  • Arabesk
  • Deep Waters
  • Harem
  • Petrified
  • Deadly Web
  • Dance with Death
  • A Passion for Killing
  • Pretty Dead Things
  • River of the Dead
  • Death by Design
  • A Noble Killing
  • Dead of Night
  • Deadline
  • Body Count
  • Land of the Blind
  • On the Bone
  • The House of Four
  • Last Rights
  • After the Mourning
  • Ashes to Ashes
  • Sure and Certain Death
  • A Private Business
  • An Act of Kindness
  • Poisoned Ground
  • Enough Rope
  • Bright Shiny Things