The Crime Writers' Association

Fiona Veitch Smith

Sub-genre: , , , , , ,

Formerly a journalist, alternatively covering the art and crime beats on a Cape Town newspaper, Fiona Veitch Smith has written books, theatre plays and screenplays for adults and children. The Jazz Files is the first novel in her mystery series, Poppy Denby Investigates, and is set in 1920s London. It was shortlisted for the CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger Award, 2016. Book 2, The Kill Fee, sees Poppy continue to investigate murders and mysteries in the Jazz Age and was a finalist in the Forword Indie Mystery Book of the Year, 2017. Published by Lion Fiction. Her latest book, The Cairo Brief, was shortlisted for the People’s Book Prize.

She lives with her husband, daughter and two dogs in Newcastle upon Tyne where she tutors creative writing and is a visiting lecturer in journalism at the local university. She has a passion for cheesecake, Pilates and playing the clarinet – preferably not at the same time!


Historical - Shortlisted for The Jazz Files, 2016

Other Awards

Winner of the People’s Play Award for black comedy murder mystery, Pig Stew, 2010.

Finalist in the Forword Indie Prize, mystery category 2017 for The Kill Fee.

Shortlisted for The People’s Book Prize, mystery category, winter 2018/19, for The Cairo Brief.

Books by Fiona Veitch Smith

  • The Jazz Files

    Hive Amazon

  • The Kill Fee

    Hive Amazon

  • The Death Beat


  • The Cairo Brief