The Crime Writers' Association

Susan Wilkins

Sub-genre: , ,

After a degree in Law and a stint as a journalist, Susan embarked on a career in television drama. She has written numerous scripts for shows ranging from Casualty and Heartbeat to Coronation Street and Eastenders. She created and wrote the London-based detective drama South of the Border of which the BBC made two series.

Her debut novel, The Informant, was published in 2014 by Pan Macmillan and described as “a very promising debut from one of Britain’s most versatile television screenwriters.” (Daily Mail) It reached Number 24 in the bestseller charts.The Mourner(2015) and The Killer(2017) completed the Kaz Phelps trilogy, currently being adapted for television.

In 2019 she published It Should Have Been Me – “a first rate thriller – tense and twisty” (Elly Griffiths). In 2020 she moved to Bookouture for the Detective Megan Thomas series – Buried Deep and Close to the Bone. In 2020 she also self published A Killer’s Heart, a timely political thriller.


Books by Susan Wilkins

  • Cover of The Informant by Susan Wilkins The Informant
  • The Mourner