The Crime Writers’ Association

Changes to Dagger Process & Timings Announced

The CWA has overhauled its Dagger judgement timing so that the publication of nominated books will be much closer to when longlists, shortlists and winners are announced. This year, for Dagggers 2021, eligible books will be published within the period 1 April to 31 December 2020, and nominations and submissions must be made by 30 November 2020.

The 2021 judging period for Daggers 2022 will be the full 2021 calendar year with cut-off dates for submissions yet to be confirmed.

The CWA is also delighted to announce that it is offering a discount in the nomination fee for titles by fully subscribed CWA members. Publishers now only need to pay half the usual rate to nominate such a book. The payment system has also changed and nomination fees are payable by PayPal or Stripe on nomination. The payment mechanism will appear when the publisher logs in to nominate. Publishers will need to pay the full price when they nominate a CWA member’s book and will be refunded where nominated authors are fully subscribed members.

Nominations are now open for the CWA Daggers 2021, for books published April–Dec 2020.

Submit your nominations

Join the CWA

Become part of a thriving community of successful crime writers with invaluable support, expertise and marketing opportunities for all our members.

Advertise with us