The Crime Writers’ Association

CWA Dagger Awards – Shortlist

The Crime Writers’ Association has unveiled the shortlisted authors for five categories in the 2015 Dagger awards during an official reception at this year’s CRIMEFEST in Bristol.


Authors, publishers and delegates assembled to hear the Dagger chair judges announce the finalists on Friday 15th May. Diamond Dagger recipient Catherine Aird was also in attendance as she was the chair judge for the CWA’s Margery Allingham Short Story Competition. Catherine presented the prize of £1,000 and 2016 CRIMEFEST passes to the winning author Lesley Mace for her short story ‘Game Over’.


Over 882 entries were submitted by publishers and individuals to compete for the 2015 Dagger Awards. The shortlists announced at CRIMEFEST 2015 were the CWA Short Story Dagger, International Dagger, Non Fiction Dagger, Endeavour Historical Dagger and Debut Dagger. The shortlist for the Dagger In The Library award was announced on Monday 11th May by its sponsor Dead Good (


“The CWA Daggers are amongst the most prestigious crime writing awards in the world. The list of past winners reads like a Who’s Who of the genre,” enthuses CWA Chair Len Tyler. “This year the judges have been able to shortlist another fantastic collection of books in each of the categories. My congratulations to all of the nominated authors.”


The CWA Dagger Awards will be presented on 30th June, to mark the end of Crime Reading Month (, at a gala dinner in central London.

The CWA Daggers Shortlist:

The International Dagger


The Short Story Dagger

The Non Fiction Dagger



The Endeavour Historical Dagger – sponsored by Endeavour Press Ltd



The Debut Dagger – sponsored by Orion



For more information please contact:

Kate White – CWA Press Officer


tel: 07814791775

Join the CWA

Become part of a thriving community of successful crime writers with invaluable support, expertise and marketing opportunities for all our members.

Advertise with us