The Crime Writers’ Association

Dagger in the Library 2022


Mark Billingham

Mark Billingham was born and brought up in Birmingham. He worked for some years as an actor and more recently as a TV writer and stand-up comedian, with his first crime novel published in 2001.

Sleepyhead was an instant bestseller in the UK. It has been sold widely throughout the world and was published in the USA in the summer of 2002.

The series of crime novels featuring London-based detective Tom Thorne continued with Scaredy Cat and was followed by many others, most recently Cry Baby. Mark is also the author of four standalone novels; his latest is Rabbit Hole.

Mark is a regular contributor to radio and TV and a member of the Fun Lovin’ Crime Writers, a combo of bestselling crime and thriller writers who performed at the Glastonbury Festival in 2019.

An acclaimed television series based on the Thorne novels was screened on Sky One in autumn 2010, starring David Morrissey as Tom Thorne. A series based on the novels In The Dark and Time Of Death was screened on BBC1 in 2017.

Join the CWA

Become part of a thriving community of successful crime writers with invaluable support, expertise and marketing opportunities for all our members.

Advertise with us