The Crime Writers’ Association

Dagger in the Library 2018


Martin Edwards

Martin Edwards

Martin Edwards, the current Chair of the CWA, has won the Edgar, Agatha, Macavity, and Poirot awards in the USA, and the CWA Short Story Dagger, CWA Margery Allingham Prize, and the H.R.F. Keating award in the UK. His latest Lake District Mystery is The Dungeon House. He has written eight novels about Liverpool lawyer Harry Devlin, starting with All the Lonely People; (shortlisted for the John Creasey Dagger); they are now available again as ebooks.

The author of over 60 short stories, Martin has also edited 35 anthologies and published ten non-fiction books. A well-known critic and writer about the crime fiction genre, past and present, with The Golden Age of Murder exemplifying his knowledge of crime fiction and its authors in the 1920s and 1930s, Martin is President and Archivist of the world-famous Detection Club. He is also series consultant to British Library’s highly successful series of crime classics and has written a companion to the series: The Story of Classic Crime in 100 Books.

Gallows Court, Martin’s latest novel due out in September 2018, is set in 1930 and features a dashing new character – rich, mysterious and ruthless – Rachel Savernake.

Join the CWA

Become part of a thriving community of successful crime writers with invaluable support, expertise and marketing opportunities for all our members.

Advertise with us