The Crime Writers’ Association

Historical Dagger

This award is for the best historical crime novel, first published in the UK in English during the judging period, set in any period up to 50 years prior to the year in which the award will be made. For novels that involve passages set later than this time period, at least three quarters of the book should be set in an earlier period.

Current holder

Historical Dagger 2021 Winner

Vaseem Khan

Midnight at Malabar House

Hodder & Stoughton

Inspector Persis Wadia, India’s first female police inspector, finally lands a big case: investigating the murder of a prominent English diplomat in the midst of hosting his own New Year’s Eve Ball, in Bombay 1949. His murderer hopes … More




J M AlveyJustice for AthenaCanelo Digital Publishing Limited
John BanvilleSnowFaber
Vaseem KhanMidnight at Malabar HouseHodder & Stoughton
Laurie R KingRiviera GoldAllison & Busby
Chris LloydThe Unwanted DeadOrion Fiction, The Orion Publishing Group
S J ParrisExecutionHarperFiction, HarperCollins
Ben PastorThe Night of Shooting StarsBitter Lemon Press
Michael RussellThe City Under SiegeConstable, Little, Brown Book Group
David S. StaffordSkelton’s Guide to Domestic PoisonsAllison & Busby
A D SwanstonChaosBantam Press, Transworld
Nicola UpsonThe Dead of WinterFaber
Ovidia YuThe Mimosa Tree MysteryConstable, Little, Brown Book Group

The Judges

Professor Edward James (Chair)
Edward James is Emeritus Professor of Medieval History at University College Dublin. He has published numerous papers on the archaeology, art and history of early medieval Europe. He is also an enthusiastic reader of science fiction and fantasy. In 2017 the International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts presented him with their Distinguished Scholarship Award.

Janet Laurence
Janet Laurence has written four cookery books and has contributed articles to a number of publications, including a series on historical cooking for Country Life. Under a pseudonym she also writes contemporary women’s fiction and was recently chair of judges for the CWA Dagger in Translation.

Angela Rippon
Angela May Rippon CBE is an English television journalist, newsreader, writer and presenter. Angela presented radio and television news programmes in South West England before moving to BBC One’s Nine O’Clock News, becoming a regular presenter in 1975.

Join the CWA

Become part of a thriving community of successful crime writers with invaluable support, expertise and marketing opportunities for all our members.

Advertise with us