The Crime Writers’ Association

The Awards Dinner 2022

We are delighted to invite you to this year’s Daggers Awards Gala Dinner on Wednesday 29 June at the Leonardo City Hotel on Cooper’s Row in London.

Everyone – readers, writers, editors, agents, publishers, bloggers, journalists – is welcome, but it’s in your interests to book soon, as this year we are reducing our maximum capacity in the interests of social distancing.

After-dinner speaker

This year’s after-dinner speaker will be the CWA’s very own Booksellers Champion and bestselling author, Elly Griffiths. Elly is the author of the Dr Ruth Galloway series and was awarded the Dagger in the Library in 2016. Her first stand-alone novel, The Stranger Diaries, won the 2020 Edgar Award for best novel. The second, The Postscript Murders, was shortlisted for the 2021 CWA Gold Dagger.


The role of MC will be a double act this year, with esteemed crime writing expert and compère extraordinaire Barry Forshaw, joined by his Crime Time co-host Victoria Selman, bestselling author of the serial killer thriller series featuring criminal profiler Ziba MacKenzie.

Ticket prices

We are pleased to have kept prices at the 2019 level.

CWA individual members: £80+VAT (£96)
Non-members: £90+VAT (£108)
Table of ten: £833+VAT (£1,000)


Smart (black tie optional)


Drinks reception from 6pm
Dinner at 7pm
Carriages around 10:30pm

Previous years

From 2016-2019 the Daggers Gala Dinner was held in London in October. A glamorous event, it was the must-attend function of the publishing season.

In 2020 and 2021, with the pandemic, this wasn’t possible and we held a virtual event called Daggers Live. Hundreds of people watched as we Zoomed live to writers’ homes and announced the winners.

In 2022

We look forward to holding a real-world event again. The timing for the awards is now in summer, as the Daggers’ schedule has been amended so that the awards and publication more closely align.


Check out photos from the Daggers Dinner over the last few years.

We’ve provided a search function by year. If you’re looking for photos of a particular author but aren’t sure which year they won, see Past Winners. If you have other enquiries connected with the event, past or future, please contact .

Join the CWA

Become part of a thriving community of successful crime writers with invaluable support, expertise and marketing opportunities for all our members.

Advertise with us