The Crime Writers' Association

CWA Dagger in the Library

The CWA Dagger in the Library is an award for which librarians nominate an author.

The Dagger in the Library is a prize for a body of work by a crime writer that users of libraries particularly admire. Only librarians can nominate authors for the award. It is one of the most prestigious crime writing awards in the UK and previous winners include Mari Hannah, Elly Griffiths, Christopher Fowler, Sharon Bolton,  Alexander McCall Smith, Stephen Booth, Peter Robinson,  Lindsey Davis, Martin Edwards, Kate Ellis and in 2020 Christopher Brookmyre.

Up to three members of staff from any one UK library can nominate an eligible author from the list below. Please take advantage and let us have the author who you think is not only most popular with borrowers but who supports libraries the most.

Nominations now closed

‘One of the great pleasures and privileges of this job is doing library events, where I find many of the warmest and most receptive audiences. It is one of the things I have missed most during the pandemic, which makes it particularly gratifying this year to feel the warmth from libraries reflected in this way.’

Christopher Brookmyre,Winner of the CWA Dagger in the Library 2020

More information about Chris can be found here.