The Crime Writers' Association


2016 Longlists announced

The 2016 Daggers longlists have been announced.
Click on one of the Dagger categories below to view its longlist.

The 2016 Dagger shortlists will be announced on this website on Thursday July 28.

The Daggers

The Crime Writers’ Association Daggers have been synonymous with quality crime writing for over fifty years. These prestigious awards started in 1955, less than two years after the Association was founded, with the award of a Crossed Red Herring Award to Winston Graham for The Little Walls.

Over the years the number of CWA Daggers has increased (and occasionally decreased). Currently ten Daggers are awarded annually by the CWA.

Most of the awards are nominated by the book’s publishers. For details on schedule, on how to nominate and to submit nominations, visit


Select a Dagger below to find out who holds the title. Or view past winners in the Dagger winners archive.

View the winners archive

  • flemingsteel-172x143
  • Goldsboro-Books-172x98
  • orion-group-logo-with-dog
  • Endeavour-Press-logo-2016-172x28